Retreat

I have spent this weekend reading about and preparing to do a home retreat. I’ve always liked the idea of going on a retreat, but was never sure that I could find one that would ‘fit’ with my beliefs (as ill-formed as they are). So I decided that I will do a retreat on my own, at home. I don’t buy into much traditional religious claptrap, and don’t have much time for anything completely hippy-dippy ‘grow your own jumpers and knit your own veg’. I do, however, have some kind of ‘faith’ – in the Universe, in the Goddess, in Being. And I know that some of the practices I try to do, such as Mindfulness, are helpful and worthful.

I bought Jennifer Louden‘s book The Woman’s Retreat Book: A Guide to Restoring, Rediscovering and Reawakening Your True Self –In a Moment, An Hour, Or a Weekend. I read and relaxed, and thought about different practices and things I could do. I bought myself a planning book to write down my ideas. I ‘retreated’ into myself. I pretty much had a retreat without (m)any of the usual retreat like practices! It was one of the most relaxing weekends I’ve had for a while. Not completely a retreat though – I still spent too much time on FaceBook, and watched TV, and did housework. I didn’t ‘get away’

I am going to do it ‘for real’ on the 22nd March, which is my next totally free weekend. I have a plan, a list of practices, a hope, a desire, a need to bring my guiding star to life. Love. To love and cherish myself.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. starrystez
    Feb 24, 2013 @ 22:13:48

    Good luck! I’ve been on several retreats and found them all a wonderful experience.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

